PH Mountains · Uncategorized

Buwis BuHIKE -Mt. Hapunang Banoi

photo-14-01-2016-7-14-47-am
We were lucky to witness Mt. Hapunang Banoi’s Sea of Clouds. 

Earlier this year, my friend KC invited me for her first hike. I decided to join her despite the short notice because I thought it was going to be an easy hike, but i was totally wrong! LOL! A few days before I celebrated my birthday, I conquered Mt. Hapunang Banoi located at Barangay Wawa, Rodriguez Rizal.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Along with Mt. Binacayan and Mt. Pamitinan, Mt. Hapunang Banoi is one of the favorite hiking destinations in Rizal due to its proximity to the metro.

Since it was an ordinary day, we left Cubao around 4am and arrived at the jump off point before 5am. After we registered and paid the tourism fee, we met our tour guide and started our hike.After 15 minutes of walking non stop, I asked for a break because i was on the verge of fainting, which didn’t happen… thankfully I only threw up (gross I know)! LOL!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Kapit lang, bes!
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
The Hanging Bridge

It was the second time that I hiked without enough sleep. After our little break, I felt relieved and was ready to get back on track.So guys, always make sure to get a good night’s rest before the actual climb to avoid ending up like me.

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset
The Majestic View from Peak 1
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
The famous Balete Tree

We reached peak 1 just in time for sunrise and I was so surprised with the sea of clouds. I thought only Mt. Pulag offers this kind of view. I stood there for a couple of minutes while I kept on saying ” OMG! It’s so beautiful! OMG”

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Who run the world?! GIRLS!
photo-14-01-2016-7-16-11-am
Buwis-BuHIKE shot. It scared the hell out of me! LOL
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Finding inner peace.

As we were the only group there that morning we had a lot of time to take photos. Kuya Junnie (our tour guide/photographer) put my boldness to test doing those death-defying shots. It was a bit hard for me because I was afraid of heights plus you needed to have good balance or else say good-bye to the world. HAHA Just kidding!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Namaste.

I thought it was the hardest part of the trail but wait! there’s more! From peak 1,we had to step on thin and knife-edged rocks to go on.There was a part that we had to jump over a gap between two rocks.

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset
One with nature
Upon reaching the summit, our guide took pictures of us while we balanced atop a crag ( a very steep sheer cliff! ) showing off his balancing and rock hopping skills on the jagged and sharp rock formations of the peak.
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Coz girls just wanna HAPBAN (HAPunang BANoi)
 Watching him hop from one rocky outcrop to another was quite impressive! I was really WOWed! Mt. Hapunang Banoi’s rock will tell you straight to your face that they are no ordinary rocks.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
WAWA DAM

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Instead of going back to the jump of point, we traversed to wawa dam to cool down. It was indeed a good way to kick start my birthday celebration.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Thank you girls for an awesomazing hike!
HOW TO GET THERE via CUBAO
1. You can ride an fx in front of Jollibee and tell the driver to drop you off in Eastwood
2. From Eastwood you can ride a tricycle going to Brgy. Wawa
BUDGET
Cubao to Eastwood – 50php
Tricycle to brgy. Wawa – 20 php
Registration Fee – 20php (But when we went  there it was only 2 php)
Tour Guide Fee: 500php/5 pax – 200/pax(we agree on paying 200 each including the tip for our guide)
Cottage at Wawa Dam – 150php/ 50php/pax
Tricycle to Eastwood – 20php
Eastwood to Cubao- 50php
TOTAL- 410php
Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
“Be fearless in the pursuit of the things that make you feel alive. Take that leap and make your adventures begin”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

