PH Mountains

First Day Hike: GV (Goodvibes) sa MT. GB (Gulugod-Baboy)

FB_IMG_1429164720035

I’m afraid of heights. In fact, I get into panic mode at the very thought of it. You see, I’m not a sporty type of person. Call me weak, whatever. Unlike the lure of the sea, never in my wildest imagination did I think I would ACTUALLY climb a mountain. But one day, I decided get out of my comfort zone and tried it. My friend Zeti (whom I met because of surfing), asked me if I want to join her at Mt. Gulugod-Baboy. I thought about it a hundred times, but then again, I said “How would I know?” And so, I took a leap of faith.

FB_IMG_1429164408680
New found friends a.k.a, “Tropang Hugot Bundok”

 

Jpeg

On April 11, 2015, me and the other 12 participants (I was the only first-timer in the group), climbed Mt. GB in Anilao, Mabini Batangas. We started around 10am and a few minutes later, I almost passed out. The trail is ascending and the temperature is just too high for a novice like me. I sat along the trail and told Paolo (the strongest in the group and our sweeper), that I will just wait for them because I can’t do it anymore. He said “No you can do it. Drink lots of water. I’m going to wait for you”. I told him that I can no longer continue and make it to the summit and I don’t want to be the cause of the delay.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
During one of our “take 5” insert music, When my legs don’t walk like they used to before – Leg Sheeran lol
Jpeg
Meet Paolo

I was really feeling hopeless but he didn’t give up on me. I felt his persistence in convincing me that I can finish it and make it to the top. He even offered to be my porter and bring my stuff and hoping that it might help me (Aarte pa ba ako? Choosy pa te? Lol). Honestly, he was a big help. I was able to recover and regain my energy. After an hour and half, we finally made it to the top. Lo and behold! The view was unbelievable! I wanted to scream and cry, not just because  I made it but because of God’s beautiful creation! I was in awe and the feeling is so surreal! That was the first time in my life I saw such amazing view like that. I was speechless for a few minutes. I didn’t even get a chance to take a lot of photos because I am enjoying what I am seeing.

 

 

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Thank you for organizing this hike, ZETI!!

Mt. Gulugod-Baboy (pig’s spine) is ideal for a first time hiker (upon writing this, I already climbed 5 mountains and I can say that Mt. GB was the easiest among others). It may not be popular, but it does showcase a 360-degree view of Batangas province.

Jpeg
My new-found friends busy taking photos

GB Tree

After we had our group photos, we decided to start descending and have our lunch at Philpan dive resort.

FB_IMG_1429164744247

PHILPAN DIVE RESORT

Anilao is known as one o the best diving spot in the country. Well, as much as we want to try it, we can’t afford it and we don’t have much time. Instead of diving we did swimming and snorkeling. We’ve waited til sunset before we head home. Indeed, it was an amazing weekend and not bad for another first in my life.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Jump Shot!
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
WOOOOOOOOHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

Jump off point: Philpan Dive Resort

Days Required/Hours to summit: Half day/1-2 hours

Specs: Minor Climb — Difficulty 2/9

Trail Class: 1-3

How to get there:

We took a private van going there but I’m going to give you details on how to commute.

  1. Take a bus from Cubao or Buendia going to Batangas Port and tell the driver to drop you off at Batangas City Grand Terminal. There’s only one terminal there so you will never get lost. It will take 2 hours travel time.
  2. From the terminal, ride a jeepney and tell the driver that you are going to Mt. Gulugod-Baboy and he will drop you off at the tricycle terminal in Anilao.
  3. Ride the tricycle going to Philpan Dive Resort.

Budget: 500-600pesos

Jpeg
“It is not the mountain that we conquer but OURSELVES” – Edmund Hillary
One thought on “First Day Hike: GV (Goodvibes) sa MT. GB (Gulugod-Baboy)

Leave a Reply

